In October, I will be offering a class on writing about caring for our aging parents. Thank you to the Crow Collective for this opportunity to gather, read, and write about caregiving! Stay tuned for registration information by signing up for the Crow Collective list and/or mine!

As the caregiver for my mom, I’ve found joy, sadness, and meaning in flexing roles as child and caretaker. It can be a bittersweet experience to watch the people who raised us age or ail, and often it brings child and parent closer together or farther apart. Writing becomes an essential tool for understanding this transformative period in life. This workshop is for those experiencing that role reversal, for people caring for someone who once helped raise them but now needs help themselves. That person can be a parent, a grandparent, an aunt or uncle, a partner, or a friend. Flash fiction and nonfiction authors have shown time and again that there’s resonance in the literary short form. This session will help you unlock the ability to write about caretaking in 1,000 words or less. We’ll read flash on the topic, discuss flash memoir techniques, and work on prompts together. You’ll come away with new stories on the topic and a connection to other writers with similar experiences.

Date October 1, Saturday: 8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM BST / 8:30 PM IST

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s